Hello – now on “Day 3 of Official Child Minding

What an interesting morning I’ve had!  It began quite simply really and turned topsy-turvy as it went along.

I was getting a lift at 8.15am with my husband Geoff to take the children to school while he did a morning’s work. I had hoped to catch a bus down to attend my Book Club Meeting at 10am. Or, if Geoff was finished early he would pick me up from the school and I would arrive a little late –  it was all mapped out and well planned, or so it seemed.

Well, nothing went to plan did it? Providence intervened. Have you ever had that experience when all your plans go wrong and your day is a disaster? Well, this was the opposite to that kind of day. This was a day which turned into a far better day than I could possibly have planned: a wonderful day!

By midday, I had managed to make friends with the Coffee Van owners who were in the car park (whilst drinking good coffee of course) and discovered the wife was a fellow blogger. Well, we became engrossed in a wonderful conversation which could not be stopped as we had so much in common.

Within the next two hours, I had made friends with the Church Secretary and engaged in a wonderful and interesting conversation with the Vice Principal. Then an old friend who teaches at the school appeared and we caught up. By this time, the Ash Wednesday Mass for the school was soon to commence (11am). Alice had begged me to attend and I had declined because of my Meeting but now, shrugging my shoulders, I set off to Mass instead. It was far too late for my Book Club at this hour!!

Well, what a wonderful celebration Mass turned out to be with all the children. Geoff arrived in the middle of it and by noon, I realised I could catch my Book Club friends at the Cafe where they often go for lunch after the meeting. And so it came to pass. The day had turned far more interesting than I could ever have planned.

You see, I love meeting new people and exchanging ideas and having unexpected discussions and my morning had fulfilled all of that criteria but it had also made my granddaughter Alice, one “Happy Little Vegemite” (explanation later) because she locked eyes with me at the Mass and I saw a lovely little smile on her lips that said: “Oh, she CAME wow!”
It did touch my heart just a little and I began to wonder why I thought the Book Club was more important than my grandchild’s wishes. The thing was, I ended up catching up with my Book Club friends over a lovely lunch which was far more interesting than the meeting would have been! And now to boot, I have a new blogger friend to look up.

Now, before I go any further, I must explain the term “Happy Little Vegemite to my overseas followers. You see, “Vegemite” is a yeast extract spread (for bread, toast or biscuits) black in colour, which is unique to Australia. You may know of “Marmite” in the UK? A bit like that. Well, some bright soul here decided to make an Aussie version of Marmite and they came up with “Vegemite”.

One has to begin eating Vegemite from a very early age to appreciate it as it is salty and yeasty and apparently quite awful according to those visiting our country who have tried it!  But to us Aussies, “Vegemite” has no substitute and some people who move overseas miss it so much that they must have it sent over! Yes, it is a mighty powerful taste. Love it or hate it!

A “happy little Vegemite” came about when an ad on TV (in the late 1950’s) showed some little girls happy and bouncy eating Vegemite on bread singing “We’re happy little Vegemites, as bright as bright can be..” and then ending with “it puts a rose in every cheek..” Interestingly enough, because TV was only shown in black and white at this stage, one never could see the rose in every cheek at all!

Although later, the ad was revamped with colour  added and sure enough, those rosy cheeks appeared for all the world to see! And so the term “Happy Little Vegemites” has gone into Australian folklore to mean happy, healthy and rosy-cheeked children. I thought it worthwhile to share that snippet with you all. (Photo of our two Happy Little Vegemites on their first day of school).

Before I close, I must share a humourous moment from last night concerning my granddaughters. It was a case of applying humour to a situation. Alice sustained a small cut under her foot (due to tomfoolery) and when a band-aid would not suffice and tears were flowing, I found her on her bed with a huge cloth bandage on her foot that would make a mangled foot proud. I could not believe it!

I said “Oh, getting the foot ready for amputation are we? I wonder when the surgeons will be in to cut it off?” She looked at me in horror! Violet, who was present, didn’t miss a beat. “Grandma” she said brightly “I think they should cut it off just below the knee” and here she pointed to the place and added “and then she could walk like this…” and commenced to walk with one full leg and the other using her knee, limping as she went!

The three of us could not contain ourselves and feel about laughing. But all was not yet finished. Alice suggested to Violet that she should get her HEAD cut off because she was being so silly. Five-year old Violet loved this idea! (I kid you not). Her eyes brightened with pleasure.

So I explained to them what happens when a chicken has its head cut off: the headless body runs around for some time before the chook keels over and wham, its dead. It was Violet’s turn to have a look of horror on her face: “Oh no, I don’t think I want that to happen Grandma, I don’t think I would like to run around without my HEAD!”

Yes, Violet, as if this was really going to happen?! You cannot beat children for humour plus imagination. The laugh made us all feel good though and the injury was soon forgotten.

Until tomorrow.

