Hello ‘out there’

Can you believe that today is my seventh blog entry?

A week tomorrow. Wow! Even I am impressed. Also, I have not looked back since that fateful night when I had the panic attack: the ‘what was I thinking?’ attack. So glad I pressed on. Now, I must tell you about a conversation my husband Geoff and I had at breakfast this morning.  The story actually began yesterday.

Geoff was acting in his role of Bampy (grandfather to those who do not speak this language) and was helping out my daughter and her husband. They arranged to meet and he brought our two granddaughters – Alice and Violet – back to our place while their mum and dad did some long-winded business.

At this point I received a text message on Geoff’s mobile saying they were on their way. I wondered about the message as it did not sound like Geoff, until a second message came in saying ‘this is Alice’. Ok that was the explanation then. Another message came in and said: ‘ok love you so so so so so much alice’. I was busy so I quickly replied ‘Ditto Alice – me too! xxxxxx’ and thought no more about it.

Apparently, 10-year-old Alice asked: ‘Bampy what does ‘ditto’ mean?’ Poor Bampy was put on the spot. He tried to explain what it meant and ended up with: ‘She thinks the same too’ (or something like that). We had a chuckle about it this morning saying that ‘ditto’ must be a strange word to a child who has never heard it before! She did seem satisfied however and she has learned something new. I am so pleased that now my grandchildren are living here, I can be the source of such useful (or useless perhaps?) information!

Next minute, I had the Macquarie dictionary in my hand looking up the meaning of ‘ditto’. Here is what it said:                 

               ditto n, dittoing adv. dittos pl: the same (used in accounts, lists, etc to avoid repetition) symbol ”  2. as   already stated; likewise 3. to duplicate, copy.

That is all fine and the dictionary explains it well but have YOU ever heard anyone use the word dittoing?? Geoff and I tried in vain to put it into a sentence. Try it, it is quite a funny exercise. It can be done but, oh dear, the English language is strange sometimes.

Talking about children reminds me of a conversation I had the last week with five-year old Violet when we bought her a little doll at Lifeline (how we came to be there is another blog for another day!). She said: “Grandma, I’m going to call this dolly Wosie!’  I struggled to understand what sort of name Wosie was and then the light bulb went on” Oh, you mean ROSIE?’ Violet replied impatiently: “Grandma, that’s what I said – WOSIE!” Oh I see, Rosie and Wosie are the same…

Before I close, let me just say that my Christmas tree did not get taken down yesterday on The Epiphany after all (see yesterday’s blog). Time got away and so we decided that it should be left up until our family BBQ on Sunday to farewell our son-in-law Steve, off on his new adventure in East Timor. It’s not as if I need permission to extend the time! 

 Besides, I am waiting on a new tree decoration – a birdie – which has not yet arrived. It is still flying in and should arrive tomorrow (I hope). More on the ‘birdie’ on my blog tomorrow. It IS quite a saga!

Until then, I’ll share something that inspired me today:  

You harvest what you plant. Pumpkin seeds produce pumpkins. Sunflower seeds produce sunflowers. This is exactly why you need to be careful of what seed you plant in your mind and in your mouth. What comes forth may be evidence that some bad seeds have been planted and you need to do some weeding. 

Food for thought for all of us …

